
 

 

  

 

 

                                                                                                                                                            
Date: September 20, 2012 

 

 

 •  MEDIA ADVISORY  •  MEDIA ADVISORY  •  MEDIA ADVISORY  •  MEDIA ADVISORY  •  

 

GLENDALE FIRE DEPARTMENT AND GOVERNOR’S OFFICE OF HIGHWAY 

SAFETY TEAM UP FOR CHILD PASSENGER SAFETY  

 

 
WHO: Glendale Fire Department and Governor’s Office of Highway Safety team up to keep young 

passengers safe in vehicles  

WHAT:         The Governor’s Office of Highway Safety has provided Glendale Fire Department with a child 

passenger safety grant of nearly $21,000 for car seat safety education and free car seats for 

those Glendale residents in need   

WHY: All children should be properly restrained in the vehicle. Arizona’s new booster seat law 

(effective Aug. 2, 2012) requires all children less than 4’9 tall and 8 years of age to be 

properly restrained in a booster seat.   

CONTACT: Lisa Kutis, 623-930-4487, for more information or to schedule an interview. 

In partnership with the Arizona Governor’s Office of Highway Safety, Glendale Fire Department holds 

monthly car seat education classes to new parents at Banner Thunderbird Medical Center. In the past year, 

the department has provided more than 225 parents with car seat education through these classes, over 300 

car seat inspections by appointment and hosted several car seat check-up events.  In addition, over 100 car 

seats have been purchased with GOHS grant funds, for Glendale residents in need.  For information about 

the Glendale Fire Department car seat program or to make an appointment to have your car seat inspected by 

a certified technician, please call 623-930-SEAT. 
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