
Starting a New Business 
Tax & License Requirements 

Tax & License Division 

Welcome to the City of Glendale.  We wish you success in your new venture and hope this brochure will assist you in 
understanding some of the license and registration requirements of the City of Glendale and the State of Arizona. 
Before starting your new business we encourage you to read this brochure and contact us if you have any questions 
concerning city requirements. 

This brochure is for general information purposes only.  You should contact your tax advisor as to your specific 
situation.  In case of any inconsistencies or omissions, the City Code shall prevail over the language in this 
publication. 

Glendale Transaction Privilege (Sales) Tax 

Anyone who wishes to conduct a business taxable under the Glendale Transaction Privilege Tax Code (Sales Tax 
Code) must apply for a Privilege (Sales) Tax License.  A separate license is needed for each location where business 
will be conducted. 

The taxable business activities are broken down into various classifications.  Classes of activities subject to the tax 
include: 

•  Advertising  •  Publishing 
•  Amusements  •  Rental of Personal Property 
•  Contracting  •  Rental of Real Property 
•  Hotel/Motel  •  Restaurants & Bars 
•  Jet fuel  •  Retail Sales 
•  Mining  •  Telecommunications 
•  Mfgd. Buildings  •  Transportation 
•  Printing  •  Utilities 

NOTE:  Although the sales tax is usually passed on to the consumer, it is actually a tax on you, the vendor, doing 
business in the city of Glendale. 

For current tax rates, please contact the Glendale Tax & License Division at (623) 930­3190 or visit 
www.glendaleaz.com/taxandlicense/. 

Privilege (Sales) Tax License 

Fees:  New License ­ $50 (prorated by quarter) ­ Renewal of License ­ $50/year 

As with all licenses and registrations administered by the city, the privilege (sales) tax license is non­transferable 
when business ownership or location changes.  The license must be on display to the public in the licensee’s place of
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business. 

Once licensed, businesses must file monthly sales tax returns with the City of Glendale.  The due date for the sales 
tax return is the 20th of the month following the month in which the tax is due.  (Example:  Taxes collected in October, 
XXXX would be due by Nov. 20, XXXX).  Returns must be received by the city on or before the last business day of 
the month when due; otherwise, the return is considered delinquent.  Delinquent penalties are 5% per month for late 
filing, 10% for late payment; up to a maximum of 25% of the total amount due, plus interest. By law, interest may not 
be waived. 

Note:  There is a $25 fee for checks returned by your financial institution for insufficient funds or other reasons. 

Use Tax 

Fees:  New License ­ $50 (prorated by quarter) 

Businesses (or individuals) making out­of­state purchases for their own use ­ not for resale ­ on which no sales tax is 
paid are required to pay a use tax. 

Businesses planning to use, store or consume goods brought into the State of Arizona/City of Glendale on a regular 
basis must obtain a privilege (sales) tax license to report the use taxable purchases. 

Due dates for reporting use tax, penalties and interest are the same as listed above.  For current use tax rates, 
please call the Glendale Tax & License Division at (623) 930­3190 or visit www.glendaleaz.com/taxandlicense/. 

Business, Occupational or Professional License 

Fees:  New License ­ $50 (pro­rated by quarter) ­ License Renewal ­ $50/year 

All persons engaging in businesses, occupations or professions within the city limits who are not required to obtain a 
privilege (sales) tax license or a regulatory license under applicable City Code provisions are  required to obtain a 
Business, Occupational or Professional License (BOP).  A separate license is needed for each location where 
business will be conducted. 

Non­profit entities with tax­exempt status under the Internal Revenue Code Section 501(c)(3) are required to 
complete and file a BOP application.  A copy of their tax­exempt certification must be supplied.  Non­profit entities are 
not charged the license fee. 

Insurance companies and their agents, who are licensed with the Arizona Department of Insurance, are exempt from 
the BOP ordinance. 

If you are an employee of or an independent contractor for another person or entity which holds a city license, you 
are not required to obtain a BOP License. 

The BOP License is valid for a 12­month period, from January 1 of the year in which it is issued and continuing 
through December 31 of the same year. 

The BOP license shall become invalid unless renewed by January 31 of the following year.  Any person who fails to 
renew the license on or before the above date shall be deemed to be operating without a license and will be subject 
to a penalty of 50% of the fee. 

If a person who is required to obtain a BOP License fails to do so before conducting any business, occupational or 
professional activity, he/she shall be subject to a penalty of 50% in addition to the annual license fee that would have 
been imposed on the date on which the activity commenced. 

The BOP License is non­transferable between owners or locations, and shall be on display to the public in the 
licensee’s place of business. 

For additional information or for a copy of the Glendale City Code, call: (623) 930­3190 or visit 
www.glendaleaz.com/taxandlicense/. 

Arizona Withholding Tax 

All wages, salaries, bonuses or other compensation paid for services performed in Arizona are subject to state
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income tax withholding, unless specifically exempted, e.g., wages paid to seasonal agricultural workers.  Before 
hiring employees in Arizona, the employer must obtain a withholding registration certificate from the Department of 
Revenue.   For current rates and any other information concerning state withholding, please contact the Arizona 
Department of Revenue. 

Arizona Department of Revenue 
License and Registration Section 
1600 W. Monroe 
Phoenix, AZ, 85007 

Bingo Tax License 

All qualified organizations operating a bingo game, must be licensed by the state of Arizona.  Refer to the Arizona 
Revised Statutes and the Arizona Administrative Code for additional information. 

Arizona Department of Revenue 
Bingo Section 
1600 West Monroe 
Phoenix, Arizona 85007 

State Income Tax 

A sole proprietorship must pay Arizona income tax on the Arizona net earnings (income after expenses).  Each 
member of a partnership must pay Arizona income tax on their share of the partnership's net earnings.  Corporations 
must pay corporate income tax on net earnings after adjustments. 

Taxpayer Information Services 
Arizona Department of Revenue 
1600 W. Monroe 
Phoenix, AZ, 85007 

Other Requirements 

Liquor License 

Establishments selling alcoholic beverages must obtain a State Liquor License. 

Arizona Liquor License and 
Control Department 
800 W. Washington St., 5th Floor 
Phoenix, AZ, 85007 

Contractor License 

Contractors doing business in Arizona may be required to be licensed and meet certain bonding requirements. 

Licensing and Bonds 
Registrar of Contractor 
800 W. Washington St., 6th Floor 
Phoenix, AZ, 85007 

Personal Property Tax 

A list of personal property (other than motor vehicles) that will be used in your business must be furnished to your 
local County Assessor’s Office. 

Check your local telephone directory for listings. 

Worker’s Compensation 

You may be required to provide insurance coverage to protect your workers in case of industrial injury.



Industrial Commission of Arizona 
800 W. Washington St. 
Phoenix, AZ, 85007 

Unemployment Insurance 

You may be required to pay state unemployment insurance taxes and submit quarterly returns for workers. 

Arizona Department of Economic 
Security Unemployment Insurance 
2801 N. 33rd Ave. 
Phoenix, AZ, 85005 

Other offices are located throughout the state.  Please check your local telephone directory. 

Weights & Measures 

All weighing or measuring devices that are used commercially must be licensed and certified.  “Weights and 
measures” includes all instruments and devices used for weighing, measuring, metering or counting and any 
associated appliances or accessories used to weigh, measure, meter or count. 

Arizona Department of 
Weight & Measures 
1951 W. North Lane 
Phoenix, AZ, 85021 

Corporations 

All profit and non­profit corporations must register with the Arizona Corporation Commission. 

Incorporation Division 
Arizona Corporation Commission 
1200 W. Washington St. 
Phoenix, AZ, 85007 

Additional Information 

For a copy of the “Guide to State Licensing” or the “New Business Guide,” write to: 

License and Registration 
Arizona Department of Revenue 
P.O. Box 29069 
Phoenix, AZ, 85038 

To register your business name, contact: 

Secretary of State 
Publications, Room 706 
State Capitol, West Wing 
Phoenix, AZ, 85007 

For a copy of the Glendale City Code or additional inquiries: 

Call (623) 930­3190 or visit www.glendaleaz.com/taxandlicense/.
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